NAVS Humane Science Award Recipients at Intel ISEF 2002-2014


Megan Hamilton, first prize: $5,000
Can Metabolite Standards Be Produced from Human Hepatic Cells for Use in Forensic Toxicology?


Samantha Feingold, first prize: $5,000
Histone Protein Promotion with Trichostatin A on Gene Expression of Human Bladder and Prostrate Cancer Cells

Anna-Katrina Shedletsky, second prize: $2,000
Disease Propagation Through Connective Paths: Application of the Small World Theory to Epidemic Modelling

Nicholas Semenkovich, third prize: $1,000
Using Bioinformatics to Analyze the Effects of Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms on Disease


Shamita Chaudhuri, first prize: $5000 
Microarray Analysis Reveals Glucocorticoid-regulated Survival Genes that Are Associated with Inhibition of Apoptosis in Breast Epithelial Cells

Lascelles Ewen Lyn-Cook, second prize: $2000
Indole-3-Carbinol Protects Normal Neuronal Cells (HCN-1) and Kills Brain Cancer Cells (SK-N) by Downregulating Clyclooxygenase-2 and Nuclear Factor KAPPA B: In vitro Analyses

Elena Leah Glassman, third prize: $1000
Brain-Computer Interface for the Muscularly Disabled


Alan Ho-Yin Gee, first prize: $5000
Metastable Conformations in the Secondary Structure of the Poly(A) Signal in Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type-1

Jijun Chow, second prize: $2000
Use of Homology Modeling and Molecular Docking to Map Retinoid Binding Sites on Protein Kinase C

Jeff Silpe, third prize:$1000
Evaluations of MMP and TIMP Expression in Human Pediatric Brian Tumors


Charles Dyer, first prize: $5000
The Function of a Novel Apoptosis Regulating Protein, XAF-1C, in Breast Cancer Research.

Anneke Schwob, second prize: $2000
A Novel Role for Telomerase in Stem Cell Differentiation.

Anelise do Santos Klein, third prize: $1000
Animal Caring—An Educational Proposal.


Carol Yoon Joo Suh, first prize: $5000
Integrated Microfluidic Device for the Development of Human Embryonic
Stem Cells

Dayan (Jack) Li, second prize: $2000
Thrombospondin-1 Switches Nitric Oxide Function from Inhibitory to Stimulatory for Gene Expression of Human Tumor Endothelial Cell Markers

Alex Ramek and Adam Fields, third prize: $1000
Detecting Cancer in Living Tissue with Single-Cell Precision


Shivani Sud, first prize: $5000
Genomic Strategy to Refine Prognosis and Treatment of Early Stage Colon Cancer

Yale Stern Michaels, second prize: $2000
A Novel Smart shRNA System for Disease Diagnosis and Therapy

Sushma Kola, third prize: $1000
Overexpression of Aquaporin-1 in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer


Jane Suh, first prize: $5000
Microscale Platform for Determining Human Pluripotent Stem Cell Fate

Monica Chowdhury, second prize: $2000
Neural Network Modeling—An Innovative Time and Cost Efficient Approach for Anti-Cancer Drug Development

Jennifer Draiss, tied for third prize: $1000
Facial Expression and Its Relationship to Gesture in Western Lowland Gorillas

Alexander Chernyakhovsky, tied for third prize: $1000
Designing Heterologous Influenza Vaccine for New Pandemic Pathogen Emerging in Humans Infected with Avian Influenza


Philip Schlenoff, first prize: $5000
Antibody-Coated Magnetic Nanoparticles: Targeting and Treating Cancer in a Dynamic Environment

Vivian Leung, second prize: $2000
Morphological and Functional Characteristics of Lower Female Genital Tract Epithelial Cell Cultures in Different Growth Conditions

Athman Adiseshan, third prize: $1000
Ethology of Friendship among Adult Male Bonnet Macaques (Macaca radiata) at Arunachala Hill, India


Jayanth Krishman , first prize: $5000
Regulatory Signatures of Cancer Cell Lines Inferred from Gene Expression Data

Abraham Killanin and Evan Schneider, second prize (shared between team members): $2000
The Effects of Gold and Platinum Nanoparticles on Dental Pulp Stem Cell Growth and Differentiation

Neal Pathak, third prize, $1000
Polyfunctionalized Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes as Novel Scaffolds for Multimodal Tumor-Targeted Therapy and Biological Imaging


David Liu, first prize: $5000
Synthetic Nanoparticle-Based Nanozymes for Pancreatic Cancer Therapy

Raghav Tripathi, second prize: $2000
Toward the Cure: Abnormal Protein Interactions between Amyloid Beta and Tau as a Therapeutic Target for Alzheimer’s Disease

Samantha Marquez, third prize: $1000
A New Frontier in Biomedical Engineering: Ex-situ Bioengineering of Hepato- & Neuro-Celloidosomes


Savannah Tobin, first prize: $5000
Analysis of Fel d 1 Allergen Transcripts in Felis catus Saliva using Reverse Transcription Quantitative Polymerase Chain Reaction (RT-qPCR)

Samantha Marie Marquez, second prize: $2000
Advances in the Bottom-Up Assembly of Multicellular Architectures From Neuroengineering to Biodefense

Kelsey Mackenzie Barter, third prize: $1000
Targeting Survivin as a Potential Cancer Therapeutic


Sara Sakowitz, first prize: $5000
A Novel Approach for Metastatic Breast Cancer Therapy: Pharmacological Inhibition of EZH2 Histone Methyl Transferase Activity Suppresses Cancer Stem Cells and Induces Epithelial Phenotype

Elizabeth Sobolik, second prize: $2000
Cellular and Molecular Biology: Generating iPSCs [induced pluripotent stem cells] from Human Adipocytes for Differentiation into Nociceptive Neurons

Golda Shaw, third prize: $1000
Medicine and Health Sciences: Development of a Novel Blood-Based Diagnostic for Canine Lymphosarcoma

NAVS Humane Science Award Recipients at the Illinois Junior Academy of Science State Fair


Julian Terrell Otis, first prize: $500
The Effects of Opioids on Chemokine Production

Andrew Bevis, second prize: $200
Raf-Kinase Inhibitor Protein Induces Cell Proliferation in PC-3 Prostate Cancer Cells

Mariana Aviles, third prize: $100
The Effects of TGF-Beta on SZP Production


Allen Jiang, first prize: $500
The Role of PAK on Cx43 Dephosphorylation

Ekaterina Khramtsova, second prize: $200
Proteasome Inhibitors in Cancer

Katie Rosman and Becky Daniel, third prize (shared between team members): $100
Man’s Best Friend? The Search for MRSA in Dog Owners and Their Dogs


Jimmy Liu and Hyunjii Cho, first prize: $500 each
The Detection of Differences between Normal and Cancerous Stem Cells

John Mussman, second prize: $200
Computer-Aided Diagnosis of Gastric Cancer

Sushma Kola, third prize: $100        
Overexpression of Aquaporin-1 in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer


Qadija Qadri, first prize: $500
EphB4 Amplification: Effect on Tumor Proteins

Jonathan Dean Loucks, second prize: $200
Predicting Secondary Protein Structure: An Analysis of Ab initio and Homology Based Modeling

Robin David and Julia Lechowicz, third prize: $100 each
p53 as a Prognostic Tool in Determining the Aggressiveness of Cancer


Areen Pitaktong, first prize: $500
The Role of MAN2A2 Expression in Glioma Proliferation and Invasivity

Alicia Walker, second prize: $200
The Epigenetic Role of RANKL in Osteoporosis

Damiana Andonova, third prize: $100
The Effect of Hormone Therapies on the Apoptosis of Ovarian Cancer Cells

53 West Jackson Blvd., Suite 1552
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 427-6065
Fax: (312) 427-6524
© 2015 National Anti-Vivisection Society is a
501(c)3 non-profit organization
53 West Jackson Blvd., Suite 1552
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 427-6065
Fax: (312) 427-6524
© 2015 National Anti-Vivisection Society is a
501(c)3 non-profit organization